Call for Nominations:
2014 Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award

February 26, 2014

Nominations are being accepted for the 16th annual Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award. Sponsored by the University of Virginia Women’s Center, the award honors a woman employed in any area of the University whose high degree of professionalism, commitment and creativity make a direct and significant impact on the academic enterprise.

The award also recognizes that leadership is found in many areas and positions within the academic community. It is named for the late writer and journalist, Elizabeth Zintl, who served as chief of staff in the Office of the President until her death in 1997. 

Past winners, from 2013 to 2009, have included Meredith Jung-En Woo, outgoing dean of the College and Graduate School of Arts & Sciences; Anda Webb, vice provost for administration and the provost’s chief of staff; Carol Wood, former associate vice president of public affairs; Karen Van Lengen, professor of architecture and former dean of the School of Architecture; and Marcia D. Childress, associate professor of medical education and co-director of the Humanities in Medicine Program.

The deadline for nominations is March 14. Materials should include a letter of nomination from another member of the U.Va. community, three additional letters of support from within the University and the nominee’s current resume or curriculum vita. It is recommended that one of the letters comes from outside the nominee’s department, office or school.

The award carries a $1,000 prize for the winner to use for her professional or personal development and will be presented in a fall ceremony.

Completed packets should be delivered to the Women’s Center to the attention of Carol Gilbert, P.O. Box 800588, Charlottesville VA 22908 or emailed to  

Media Contact

Anne E. Bromley

University News Associate Office of University Communications