Gov. Youngkin Appoints Four New UVA Board of Visitors Members

June 28, 2023
Collage of new board appointees

Virginia Gov. Glenn Youngkin appointed, from left, Paul C. Harris, Paul B. Manning, John L. Nau III and Rachel Sheridan to the UVA Board of Visitors on Wednesday. (Contributed photos)

Virginia Gov. Glenn Youngkin on Wednesday announced the appointments of four new members to the University of Virginia Board of Visitors.

The appointments are effective July 1. The new members will take their seats at the board’s next meeting, scheduled to begin Sept. 14.

The new members:

  • Paul C. Harris, of Richmond, executive vice president and chief sustainability and compliance officer of Huntington Ingalls Industries. A former member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Harris holds a bachelor’s degree in political science from Hampton University and a juris doctor degree from the George Washington University Law School.
  • Paul B. Manning, of Charlottesville, chair and CEO of PBM Capital Group. Manning previously served on the board of UVA’s Strategic Planning Committee, the UVA Health Foundation board, and the President’s Advisory Committee board. Manning also recently partnered with UVA to open the Paul and Diane Manning Institute for Biotechnology. He holds a bachelor’s degree in microbiology from the University of Massachusetts.
  • John L. Nau III, of Houston, chair and CEO of Silver Eagle Beverages, founder and president of the Nau Foundation and chair of the Texas Historical Commission. Nau, who holds a bachelor’s degree in history from UVA, previously served on the Board of Visitors from 2011 to 2015.
  • Rachel Sheridan, of McLean, a partner at the Kirkland & Ellis law firm. Sheridan holds degrees from UVA and the UVA School of Law, and is the vice president of the Virginia Athletics Foundation.

The appointments of current rector Whittington Clement of Richmond; Louis S. Haddad of Suffolk; Angela Hucles Mangano of San Marcos, California; and James V. Reyes of Washington, D.C., conclude on June 30.

“UVA has made great progress toward the goals described in our 2030 Strategic Plan, but we have more to do,” University President Jim Ryan said. “I’m grateful for the service of our outgoing board members toward these efforts, and I am looking forward to collaborating with our newest board members as we continue to work to make the University the absolute best version of itself.”

Media Contact

Bethanie Glover

Deputy University Spokesperson