Governor McAuliffe Appoints Four New Members to U.Va. Board of Visitors

June 02, 2015

Gov. Terry McAuliffe today announced the appointment of four new members to the University of Virginia Board of Visitors.

Whittington W. Clement of Richmond; Tammy Snyder Murphy of Red Bank, New Jersey; James V. Reyes of Washington, D.C.; and Jeffrey C. Walker of New York, New York will begin four-year terms July 1.

“It is my great pleasure to welcome this distinguished group to the Board of Visitors, each of whom holds a deep passion for the University and for higher education,” Rector George Keith Martin said. “Their collective expertise in the public and private sectors will serve the University of Virginia and the commonwealth well.”

U.Va. President Teresa A. Sullivan also congratulated and welcomed the new board members.

“Each new appointee brings considerable experience and knowledge to the Board of Visitors,” she said. “As we approach the University’s bicentennial, I look forward to working with these new members and with the entire Board as we continue to implement the priorities of the Cornerstone Plan while advancing the University’s mission of education, research, patient care and service.”

The governor’s board appointments are:

• Whittington W. Clement of Richmond, partner and head of the state government relations practice group at Hunton & Williams LLP. He is a founding trustee and member of the U.Va. College Foundation, former member of the U.Va. Alumni Association Board of Managers and of the Jefferson Scholarship National Selection Committee. Clement is former chair of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia and the Averett University Board of Trustees, former Virginia Secretary of Transportation and former member of the Virginia House of Delegates. Most recently a member of the University’s Ad Hoc Group on University Climate and Culture, Clement holds a bachelor’s degree in history and a law degree from the University.

Tammy Snyder Murphy of Red Bank, New Jersey, a recent co-founder of a policy think tank focused on bold ideas to jump-start the New Jersey economy. She worked in finance for many years, principally with Goldman Sachs in the U.S. and Investcorp in Europe. Murphy’s family foundation supported the financing of an endowed chair in the name of renowned civil rights leader and U.Va. history professor emeritus Julian Bond. She is a former member of the College Foundation at the University of Virginia and graduate of U.Va. with a bachelor’s in English and communications.  

James V. Reyes of Washington, D.C., a leading food and beverage wholesale distributor who serves customers throughout the U.S., Canada, Brazil, Latin America, Europe, Asia and Australia. He chairs the Board of Directors of the National Rehabilitation Hospital in Washington, D.C., and is a member of the Young Presidents Organization and the Economic Club of Washington. Reyes holds a bachelor’s in economics, government and politics from the University of Maryland. He also studied abroad at Richmond College in London, England.

Jeffrey C. Walker of New York, vice chair in the United Nations Envoy’s Office for Health Finance and Malaria and a partner in the Bridge Builders investment fund. Former CEO and co-founder of CCMP Capital, he was executive-in-residence at Harvard Business School – focusing on social enterprises and collaboration – and a lecturer at Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government. Walker is emeritus trustee and former chair of the Thomas Jefferson Foundation, was chair of U.Va.’s Council of Foundations and serves on the board of the McIntire School of Commerce Foundation, where he was president for 10 years. He holds an MBA from the Harvard Business School, a bachelor of science degree from U.Va., and is a certified management accountant and certified public accountant.    

The appointments of four board members end June 30: George Keith Martin and Dr. Stephen P. Long of Richmond, Allison Cryor DiNardo of Alexandria and John L. Nau III of Houston.

“The U.Va. community is extremely grateful to these out-going board members who have volunteered countless hours in service to the University,” Sullivan said. “We express our sincere gratitude for their contributions, and we hope that each one of them will remain engaged in the life of the University for many years to come.”

Media Contact

Anthony P. de Bruyn

University Spokesperson Office of University Communications