Observatory Work Showcases Historic Construction of Landmark Building
For the first time in more than 60 years, visitors to the University of Virginia’s McCormick Observatory can peek at parts of the original structure that date to the building’s construction in 1883.
As part of planned renovations, the canvas that covers the interior of the dome has been removed, revealing observatory craftsmanship that was state-of-the-art during the Chester A. Arthur presidency and built so well it has served generations of sky watchers, including present-day UVA astronomers.
While “the telescope is still in excellent shape,” according to astronomy professor Ed Murphy, “the building and the dome are showing their age and are in need of some restoration and care.”
Photographer Sanjay Suchak documented the work that is presenting a window into the fabled building’s history.
Photographer Office of University Communications
June 4, 2023