Outstanding Contributors Honored at Reception Today

May 18, 2011 — The winners of Leonard W. Sandridge Outstanding Contribution Awards and employees with 10, 15 and 20 years of service at the University of Virginia will be recognized today at the Service Awards Day reception in the John Paul Jones Arena.

Employees with 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, and 50 years of service will be honored June 7 at a banquet at the Boar's Head Inn.

Each year, U.Va. Human Resources appoints a committee to choose five outstanding employees from the Academic Division, and a Health System committee chooses five in the Medical Center, from a larger group of nominees. In addition, U.Va.'s College at Wise chooses a winner from its staff.

Last year, Human Resources renamed its annual Outstanding Contribution Awards in honor of Leonard W. Sandridge, U.Va.'s executive vice president and chief operating officer, who will retire at the end of this academic year. The new name for the awards – the highest honors for staff at the University – recognizes Sandridge's years of dedicated service to the University and his role as an avid champion of U.Va.'s staff.

The Sandridge Outstanding Contribution Award recipients are invited to a luncheon with the Board of Visitors in June, where each will receive a $1,000 check and an engraved gift.

Leonard W. Sandridge Outstanding Contribution Awards
Academic Division Awardees

Joy Boissevain, School of Medicine, Center for Global Health
Doug Burgess, College of Arts & Sciences, Department of Religious Studies
James Dowell, Facilities Management
Jonathan Monceaux, Parking & Transportation 
Kitty Smiley, Darden School of Business

Medical Center Awardees
Richard Covington, Health System Human Resources
Jamie Hughes, Health System Computing Services
Steven Jones, Urology
Sandra Watkins, Medical Center Transportation and Distribution
Desiree Yeago, Kluge Children's Rehabilitation Center

U.Va.'s College at Wise
Sheila Hileman, Slemp Student Center

Profiles of the honorees and a list of the employees recognized for their years of service will be posted on UVA Today in the coming weeks.

— By Anne Bromley

Media Contact

Anne E. Bromley

University News Associate Office of University Communications