U.Va. Musicians and Scientists Collaborate in a Concert April 21 at The Haven

April 05, 2011

April 5, 2011 — University of Virginia musicians and scientists will give a collaborative concert, "indiscipline," on April 21 at 8 p.m. in the sanctuary at The Haven at 112 Market Street in Charlottesville. Admission is free.

The concert will include premiere performances featuring multimedia exploration; recordings of and sonic responses to the ecology of Shenandoah National Park; algorithmic interpretations of organic processes; choral and percussive sounds; and reflections on life on the autism spectrum. Three Charlottesville University Symphony Orchestra principals, clarinetist Tasha Warren, cellist Adam Carter and percussionist I-Jen Fang, will perform. In addition, there will be cutting-edge electronic sound compositions and video.

Early last fall, a group of University musicians and scientists held a social mixer to find out what they shared, what they could learn from each other's work and how they could collaborate. It resulted in a number of partnerships between composers and scientists from fields including astronomy, psychology, biology and microbiology, nutrition and environmental sciences. Some partnerships simply involved discussion and sharing of data; others involved research field trips, and others interacted with the community as they explored developing collaborative work.

"indiscipline" features music by composers whose work has been performed at venues and festivals including the Issue Project Room in Brooklyn, N.Y.; The Stone, a nonprofit music performance space in New York City; Peabody Institute Conservatory of Music at Johns Hopkins University; Sundance Film Festival; Gaudeamus Music Week, an international festival of young composers and new music in the Netherlands; Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival in England; and the International Computer Music Festival.

Participating composers include Matthew Burtner, Erik DeLuca, Aurie Hsu, Steve Kemper, Sarah O'Halloran, Chris Peck, Lanier Sammons, Yuri Spitsyn and Paul Turowski. Participating scientists include Katie Burke, Jeff Carlin, Bill Dirienzo, Reg Garrett, Ray Keller, Matthew Lerner, Tim Matthiessen, Jennie L. Moody, Tim Pennucci, Ami Riscassi and Abel Yang.

For information about the composers, click here.

The concert is supported by the Jefferson Scholars Foundation, the McIntire Department of Music in the College of Arts & Sciences, and the Virginia Center for Computer Music.

— By Jane Ford

Media Contact

Jane Ford

Senior News Officer U.Va. Media Relations