U.Va.'s Institute for Environmental Negotiation Seeks Nominations for Leadership Award in Environmental Conflict Resolution

February 07, 2008
February 7, 2008 — The Institute for Environmental Negotiation at the University of Virginia is seeking nominations for its fourth annual Gerald P. McCarthy Award for Leadership in Environmental Conflict Resolution.

The award is given to an individual, organization, local government, agency, educational institution or community. The nominee should be a leader in the effort to preserve and protect the commonwealth's environment; support collaborative problem-solving through actions, contributions and/or educational programs; and be a role model to other groups and individuals for the resolution of environmental issues.

Nominations for this year's award will be accepted through March 17. A nomination form is available at www.virginia.edu/ien/mccarthyaward.htm.

The 2008 award will be presented on behalf of the Virginia Natural Resources Leadership Institute, a partnership program between the Virginia Department of Forestry, the Virginia Tech Center for Economic Education and the U.Va. Institute for Environmental Negotiation. This year's recipient will be announced June 5 at the graduation of the 2008 class of the Virginia Natural Resources Leadership Institute in Charlottesville.

The McCarthy Award was created in 2004 to honor Gerald P. McCarthy, its first recipient. McCarthy‘s contributions to protecting the environment and promoting environmental literacy include bringing environmental mediation to Virginia and playing a major role in awarding funding to create and continue support of the Institute for Environmental Negotiation. McCarthy is executive director of the Virginia Environmental Endowment.

The 2007 McCarthy Award recipient, Paul F. Revell, was recognized for his leadership in linking groups with tools and resources to improve urban forestry, trails and greenways, and land conservation efforts across the commonwealth. Revell is urban and community forestry coordinator for the Virginia Department of Forestry in Charlottesville.

For information on the award, contact Caroline K. Wilkinson at (434) 924-6569 or cwilk@virginia.edu.    

By Jane Ford