Awards for Clinical Excellence Given for the First Time

September 29, 2009

September 29, 2009 — As a result of funding sponsored by the University of Virginia School of Nursing's Class of 1959, the school paid tribute to 13 members of the University's nursing community who excel in clinical education as an instructor or scholar. The awards were presented at the first Anne Pollok Hemmings Clinical Excellence Awards Ceremony.

The fund was initiated by Hemmings' former students at U.Va. as a way to honor her and her achievements at the University and within the nursing community. As an alumna and nursing faculty member from 1947 to 1960, Hemmings touched the lives of generations of young nurses, inspiring them to approach their lives and nursing careers with unparalleled caring and compassion.

The Anne Pollok Hemmings Clinical Excellence Fund will be used to honor faculty members and mentors who go "above and beyond" to enhance the clinical education of student nurses at U.Va., as well as provide cash awards to recognized graduating students who best typify the qualities of the "total patient nurse."

The 2009 Hemmings Fellows honored at the ceremony are: Marianne Baernholdt, Valentina Brashers, Cathy Campbell, Regina DeGennaro, Sarah Delgado, Elizabeth Epstein, Rebecca Harmon, Carol Lynn Maxwell-Thompson, Sophia Schorling, and Dorothy Tullman. Also honored at the ceremony were the Preceptors of the Year, Sharon Bragg and Grace Muro, and the 2009 Student Recipient, Serena Knick.

— by Hannah Walker