Engineering Dean Elected to Aerospace Organization

May 27, 2011 — James H. Aylor was recently elected to the board of directors for the National Institute of Aerospace and will serve as an affiliate director.

A member of the electrical engineering faculty at the University of Virginia since 1978, Aylor is currently dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science.

Over the years, he has been an active researcher in the area of complex computer system design, including computer technology for persons with disabilities. He has published more than 145 research papers.

Aylor, Louis T. Rader Professor, received bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in electrical engineering from U.Va., finishing in 1977. From 1982 through 1983, he was a visiting scientist with IBM Federal Systems Division, participating in the Very High Speed Integrated Circuit, or VHSIC, program, and in the development of the VHSIC Hardware Description Language.

He is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers and is past editor-in-chief of IEEE Computer magazine. He also has served in several administrative and leadership roles with IEEE as a division director, board of directors member and president.

The National Institute of Aerospace is a non-profit research and graduate education institute created to conduct leading-edge aerospace and atmospheric research, develop new technologies for the nation and help inspire the next generation of scientists and engineers. The institute serves as a strategic partner with the NASA Langley Research Center and the aerospace community to enable research creativity and expand technology development opportunities.

The institute was formed by a consortium of leading research universities. Besides U.Va., members include the Georgia Institute of Technology, Hampton University, North Carolina A&T State University, North Carolina State University, the University of Maryland, Virginia Tech, Old Dominion University, the College of William & Mary and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Foundation.

Media Contact

Zak Richards

Senior Writer/SEAS