National War Powers Commission to Release Findings, Recommendations at Capitol Hill Press Conference

July 7, 2008 — Former Secretaries of State James A. Baker III and Warren Christopher, co-chairs of the National War Powers Commission, will hold a press conference to announce their panel’s unanimous findings and recommendations at 11 a.m. Tuesday, July 8, in the Cannon Caucus Room in Washington, D.C.
Convened in February 2007 by the Miller Center of Public Affairs at the University of Virginia, the bipartisan commission examined the respective war powers of the President and Congress, meeting seven times over 13 months and interviewing more than 40 witnesses. 

In addition to Baker and Christopher, the other members are former U.S. Sen. Slade Gorton, former U.S. Rep. Lee Hamilton, former U.S. Trade Representative Carla A. Hills, former Secretary of the Army John O. Marsh, Jr., former U.S. Attorney General Edwin Meese, former U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Abner J. Mikva, former Admiral J. Paul Reason, former National Security Advisor Brent Scowcroft, Princeton University Woodrow Wilson School Dean Anne-Marie Slaughter, and Brookings Institution President Strobe Talbott. University of Virginia Law School Dean John Jeffries and College of William & Mary Interim President Taylor Reveley are the co-directors.  Doris Kearns Goodwin is the historical advisor.  Rice University President David Leebron and U.Va. President John T. Casteen III are ex-officio members.
Partnering institutions: the Baker Institute at Rice University, the Freeman Spogli Institute at Stanford University, and the law schools at Stanford University, the University of Virginia, and the College of William & Mary. 

The full report will be available for download at