Nominate U.Va. Women for Zintl Leadership Award

March 31, 2009 — Nominations are being accepted for the 11th annual Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award. Given by the University of Virginia Women's Center, the award honors a woman employed in any area of the University whose high degree of professionalism, commitment and creativity make a direct and significant impact on the academic enterprise.

The award honors the late writer and journalist, Elizabeth Zintl, who served as chief of staff to President John T. Casteen III until her death in 1997.

The deadline for nominations is April 17. Materials should include a letter of nomination from another member of the U.Va. community, three additional letters of support from within the University and the nominee's current resume or curriculum vita. It is recommended that one of the letters comes from outside the nominee's department, office or school.

The honoree will receive a $1,000 prize to use for professional or personal development and will be recognized at a ceremony in the fall.

The Zintl Award is supported by a gift from the late David A. Harrison III, a devoted friend of Zintl's and one of the University's most generous benefactors.

Completed packets should be delivered to the Women’s Center by April 17, to the attention of Mindy Johnston, P.O. Box 800588, Charlottesville, VA 22908 or e-mailed to

Past recipients of the Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award

2008: Yvonne Hubbard, Director of Student Financial Services

2007: Carolyn Callahan, Professor in the Curry School of Education

2006: Shamim Sisson, former senior associate dean of students and director of the Office of Student Life

2005: Karen Rheuban, Associate Dean for Continuing Medical Education, Professor of Pediatrics, Medical Director, Office of Telemedicine

2004: Karin Wittenborg, University Librarian

2003: Patricia Werhane, Ruffin Professor of Business Ethics

2002: Shirley Menaker, Associate Provost for Academic Support; and Marva Barnett, Director, Teaching Resource Center

2001: Claire Cronmiller, Associate Professor of Biology; and Louise M. Dudley, Director of University Relations

2000: Sharon Hostler, Medical Director, Kluge Rehabilitation Center

1998: Patricia Lampkin, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs; and Sylvia Terry, Associate Dean of African-American Affairs