Office Seeks to Honor U.Va.'s Equal Opportunity 'Champions'

September 28, 2010

September 28, 2010 — The University of Virginia's Office of Equal Opportunity Programs is seeking to recognize the ongoing commitment and efforts of individuals and groups who promote and increase equity and access at the University of Virginia with its annual Champion Awards.

Nominations for the awards will be accepted until Oct. 15.

The EOP Champion Awards are inclusive and not a competition designed to select a limited number of recipients. Nominations can be made using the award nomination form linked on the EOP website or by written submission. Nominees must also have taken and successfully passed EOP's Preventing and Addressing Discrimination, Harassment and Retaliation Training.

The awards honor those who perpetuate the principles of equal opportunity and exhibit leadership qualities that result in notable contributions to the cause of social justice and equal rights.

Additional criteria include:

• Having the courage to speak up about issues of inequality, even if the individual may be a lone voice, and continuing to keep these issues alive in order to encourage change in the workplace;

• Building bridges between underrepresented communities and /or establishing connections among various individual groups;

• Taking action above and beyond the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act to help raise awareness and improve sensitivity to individuals with disabilities on Grounds;

• Actively and enthusiastically collaborating with EOP to implement the University's affirmative action program;

• Promoting an inclusive workplace and/or learning community free from discrimination, harassment and retaliation;

• Going beyond the requirements of their job responsibilities in order to advance understanding of and/or improve the climate of U.Va. for underrepresented groups.

Awardees will be recognized at the Office of Equal Opportunity Programs' open house on Oct. 29 in Washington Hall, Hotel B. The open house runs from noon to 4 p.m.; the awards ceremony will begin at 2 p.m.

— By Anne Bromley