Sullivan Launches Search to Find Provost Garson's Successor

February 10, 2011

February 10, 2011 — University of Virginia President Teresa A. Sullivan today announced the creation of the search committee charged with identifying and recommending a successor for Dr. Arthur Garson Jr., executive vice president and provost.

Garson will step down in June to become senior vice president for health policy and health systems at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, as well as director of the New York-based Dreyfus Health Foundation.

Prior to being named provost in 2007, Garson, a pediatric cardiologist and public health scholar, served as the dean of the School of Medicine for five years.

"His contributions to the University have been highly valued," Sullivan said. She noted in particular his success in leading the searches for seven of the University's 11 current school deans, the dean of admission, two vice provosts – for the arts and for international programs – the vice president for research, and the art museum director.

"Tim has been most gracious and helpful to me as I made the transition to Charlottesville," she added. "He has a sharp intellect and a sharp wit. I am going to miss working with him."

The provost, who reports to the president, is the University's chief academic officer, directing the academic administration of the University's 11 schools, the Library, the Art Museum, three residential colleges, public service activities, numerous University centers, foreign study programs and the advancement of teaching and research. The provost also serves as the principal staff for the Board of Visitors Committee on Educational Policy, which governs academic programs.

Sullivan has asked University Professor David W. Breneman, the former dean of the Curry School of Education and an expert in the economics of higher education, to chair the search.

This is the second of two high-profile searches that Sullivan has launched since becoming president on Aug. 1. The first, which began its work in October, is to find a successor for Leonard W. Sandridge, the University's long-time executive vice president and chief operating officer, who is retiring July 1. Carl P. Zeithaml, dean of the McIntire School of Commerce, is chairing that search.
In making today's announcement, Sullivan noted that the committee is broadly representative of the University, with an emphasis on membership from the faculty, but also includes staff, administrators and students.
Breneman said he believes the appointment of a new executive vice president and provost is critically important to the academic direction of the University ¬and central to the evolving leadership team that Sullivan is establishing.

"The successful candidate will be a superb scholar and teacher who is also skilled at academic budgeting and strategic resource allocation," Breneman said. "We are blessed with a superb search committee whose members are committed to helping us identify and recruit the strongest possible person to fill this key position."

Sullivan agreed, saying that she is pleased to have attracted such an outstanding committee. "I am grateful that these members of our community have agreed to commit their time to this important endeavor," she said. "I know that they will do a thorough and thoughtful job."

She will meet with the committee in the coming weeks to issue her charge.

Committee members are:

•    Chair: David Breneman, University Professor, Newton & Rita Meyers Professor in Economics of Education and Public Policy in the Curry School of Education, and professor of education and public policy in the Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy
•    Ernie X. Perez Almodovar, graduate student, School of Engineering and Applied Science
•    Melody Bianchetto, assistant vice president for budget and financial planning
•    Dorrie Fontaine, dean of the School of Nursing
•    Joan Fry, special assistant to the president
•    Robert Hardie, member of the Board of Visitors
•    Archie Holmes, professor of computer and electrical engineering, School of Engineering
•    Yonji Kim, undergraduate, College of Arts & Sciences, class of 2012
•    Mark Kington, member of the Board of Visitors
•    Elizabeth Magill, vice dean and professor, School of Law
•    Greg Roberts, dean of admission
•    Margaret Shupnik, professor of medicine and senior associate dean for research, School of Medicine
•    Melissa Thomas-Hunt, associate professor, Darden School
•    Tony Townsend, chief technology analyst, ITC
•    Gweneth West, chair of the Faculty Senate and professor of drama in the College and Graduate School of Arts & Sciences
•    Tim Wilson, professor of psychology in the College and Graduate School of Arts & Sciences
•    Karin Wittenborg, University librarian
•    Meredith Jung-En Woo, dean of the College and Graduate School of Arts & Sciences

Catherine Brand, director of the Executive Management Search Group in University Human Resources, will staff the committee.

Information and updates will be posted on the provost search webpage.

Media Contact

Carol S. Wood

Associate Vice President President's Office