Thomas Jefferson Award Nominations Due Sept. 25

September 06, 2007
Sept. 6, 2007 — Nominations are now being accepted for the Thomas Jefferson Award, the highest award given to a member of the University community.

The award will be presented at Fall Convocation, scheduled for Oct. 26 at 2 p.m. in University Hall, to a member of the faculty, administration or staff who has exemplified in character, work and influence the principles and ideals of Thomas Jefferson, and thus has advanced the objectives for which Jefferson founded the University. The award consists of a citation and a cash prize, the income of an endowment established in 1955 by the Robert Earll McConnell Foundation.  

Recent honorees include professors Larry Sabato (politics) and James Childress (religious studies), deans Edward L. Ayers (Arts & Sciences), Robert E. Scott (Law) and Robert M. Carey (Medicine), and librarian Kendon L. Stubbs.

While activities and achievements outside the University are relevant considerations, long and committed service to the University in some way is essential. To be eligible, a person must have served at the University for a minimum of 15 years in a full-time capacity. Retired faculty and staff are not eligible.

Nominations with supporting data (e.g., resume, letters) are to be sent to the chair of the Thomas Jefferson Award Committee, Leake Cottage, P.O. Box 400139, by Sept. 25.