University of Virginia Alumni Association Board Welcomes New Leadership, Adds Members

July 1, 2008 — Beginning July 1, 2008, the University of Virginia Alumni Association's Board of Managers will be under new leadership. Lisa O. Gardner (Col '79) was elected as the board's chair, with Stephen A. Riddick (Col '85) as vice chair. Allen B. Rider III (Col '76, GSBA '83) completed his term as chair on June 30. Retiring board members include Whittington W. Clement (Col '70, Law '74), Eileen F. Edmunds (Col '88, Law '94), Jason A. Gill (Col '94), John T.W. Hawkins (Col '76), Timothy J. Ingrassia (Col '86), Edward C. Mitchell Jr. (Col '63) and Richard B. Payne Jr. (Col '70).

The board elected the following alumni to renewable three-year terms, which commence on July 1, 2008:

Atiim "Tiki" K. Barber (Com '97); New York, New York

Elizabeth P. Foster (Com '82); Norfolk, Virginia

Alexander B. "Brit" Hume (Col '65); Hume, Virginia

Timothy G. O'Shea (Com '81, GSBA '85); Richmond, Virginia

Noreen L. Poulson (Col '78); New Canaan, Connecticut

Bryant L. Stith (Col '92); Lawrenceville, Virginia

Michele T. Tarbet (Nurs '74); Rancho Santa Fe, California

The University of Virginia Alumni Association was founded in 1838 and serves the University's alumni as a self-governing Virginia non-stock corporation. Governance resides with the volunteer Board of Managers. There are 37 members of the board, whose composition reflects the overall U.Va. alumni population. President John T. Casteen III (Col '65, Grad '70) and Glynn Key (Col '86, Law '89) from the University's Board of Visitors are ex officio members of the board.

The Alumni Association's programs and services include Reunions, the Virginia Magazine, Alumni Interest Groups, current student engagement, scholarships, admission advising, career services and the UVaFund.  

For more about the Alumni Association, visit