U.Va. Engineer Mike Demetsky Honored by American Road & Transportation Builders Association

March 3, 2009 — Mike Demetsky, professor and chairman of the U.Va. Engineering School's Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, received the American Road & Transportation Builders Association's 2008 S.S. Steinberg Outstanding Educator Award for his contribution to transportation education.
The award recognizes a person who has made an outstanding contribution to transportation education, and honors the memory of the founding president of the education division of the association, S.S. Steinberg. It was presented to Demetsky during the organization's meeting in Washington, D.C. in January.

Demetsky has a joint appointment with the Virginia Transportation Research Council. He also served as the director of the U.Va. Center for Transportation Studies until 2003. He is actively involved with state, national and international professional societies and organizations. He is the president of the Council of University Transportation Centers and past-president of the Intelligent Transportation Society-Virginia. He has chaired the Transportation Research Board Committee on Artificial Intelligence and the Executive Committee of the American Society of Civil Engineers' Urban Transportation Division.

Past winners of the ARTBA S.S. Steinberg Award from the U.Va. Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering are Nicholas J. Garber (2006) and Lester A. Hoel (1990).