U.Va. Honors 11 Employees with Outstanding Contribution Awards

May 8, 2007 -- The University of Virginia announced the recipients of the 2007 Outstanding Contribution Awards, the highest honor for staff at the University. The 11 award winners will each receive an engraved plaque, a $1,000 cash award and public recognition at a dinner on the Lawn on May 30.

The announcement of the Outstanding Contribution Awards was made in conjunction with Virginia Public Service Week, which runs from May 7 to 13. Agencies across the commonwealth use this time to recognize the achievement and commitment of employees during the preceding year. In addition, Governor Tim Kaine will announce the recipients of statewide Governor’s Awards, presented in a variety of categories for exceptional service to the commonwealth.

Outstanding Contribution Award winners must be nominated and receive two endorsements to their nomination. Either the nominator or one of the endorsers must by the employee’s supervisor.

A complete list of the 2007 Outstanding Contribution Award winners follows:

Medical Center:

Kirk Barbieri
Manager, Information Technology
Heart and Vascular Center

Suzi Burns
PNSO Research Program Director

Reba Camp
Administrative Program Coordinator
Office of the Chief Operations Officer (Medical Center)

Gina Christopher
Medical Center Manager

Stephen Dobmeier
Managing Director, Blue Ridge Poison Center
Emergency Medicine

Academic Division:

Gladys Bryant
Grants Administrator
Biology Department

Rose Marie Chisholm
System Usability Director
Integrated System Deployment & Support

Erik Elvgren
Senior Video Producer
Athletics Department

Eric Schmidt
Gallery & Shop Technician
McIntire Department of Art - Studio

Dick Smith
Building Manager
School of Architecture


Janice Davis
C. Bascom Slemp Student Center