U.Va. Patent Foundation Seeks Nominations for Inventor of the Year

January 20, 2009

January 20, 2009 — The University of Virginia Patent Foundation is seeking nominations for the 2009 Edlich-Henderson Inventor of the Year.

Named for U.Va. Professor Emeritus Richard F. Edlich and Christopher J. Henderson, the award recognizes an inventor or team of inventors whose technology has proven to be of notable value to society. Award winners receive a $10,000 cash prize and formal recognition at the Patent Foundation’s annual awards banquet, to be held April 13 at the Boar’s Head.

To be eligible, nominees should be current U.Va. faculty, staff or students; currently have an issued and non-expired U.S. patent or copyright on their technology; and have invented a technology that is, in the opinion of the nominator, of high value to society.

To make a nomination, send an e-mail or letter of support to the U.Va. Patent Foundation by March 2. E-mailed nominations to patents@virginia.edu are preferred. Letters can be sent to University of Virginia Patent Foundation. P.O. Box 800755, 250 W. Main St., Suite. 300 Charlottesville, VA 22902

If you have questions, e-mail patents@virginia.edu or call 434-924-2175.

Past winners of the Edlich-Henderson Inventor of the Year Award include:

2008    George T. Rodeheaver, Ph.D.

2007    Wladek Minor, Ph.D.

2006    George T. Gillies, Ph.D.

2005    Benjamin M. Gaston, M.D., John F. Hunt, M.D.

2004    Haydn N.G. Wadley, Ph.D.

2003     William A. Petri Jr., M.D., Ph.D., Barbara J. Mann, Ph.D.

2002    Joel M. Linden, Ph.D.

2001    Doris Kuhlmann-Wilsdorf, Ph.D.

2000    Ronald P. Taylor, Ph.D.

1999    John C. Herr, Ph.D.

1997    Richard L. Guerrant, M.D., Timothy L. Macdonald, Ph.D.

1996    Jessica J. Brand, Patrice G. Guyenet, Ph.D., Richard D. Pearson, M.D., Janine C. Jagger, Ph.D.

1995    Donald F. Hunt, Ph.D., Jeffrey Shabanowitz, Ph.D., George C. Stafford Jr., Ph.D.

1994    Gerald L. Mandell, M.D., Gail W. Sullivan

1993    Joseph Larner, M.D., Ph.D

1992    Robert M. Berne, M.D., Luiz Belardinelli, M.D., Rafael Rubio, Ph.D.