Who's a Diversity Leader? Award Nominations Due Feb. 14

November 29, 2011

November 29, 2011 — The University of Virginia's Office for Diversity and Equity is accepting nominations for the 2012 John T. Casteen III Diversity-Equity-Inclusion Leadership Award to recognize a student, faculty or staff member who has demonstrated a deep commitment to diversity in the U.Va. community.

Nominations are due by 5 p.m. on Feb. 14. A luncheon will be held March 16 in Alumni Hall to honor the recipient.

Other criteria include playing a leadership role in increasing diversity, equity and inclusion at U.Va. and making a sustainable and quantifiable impact in these areas.

The award was established in honor of the accomplishments of Casteen, the former president who was the award's inaugural recipient in 2010. Earlier this year, the second award went to Angela Davis, special assistant to the vice president and chief student affairs officer and former director of residence life for 30 years.

An award selection committee, chaired by Dr. Marcus L. Martin, vice president and chief officer for diversity and equity, will review the nominations and select the recipient.

Nominators should complete and submit the nomination form available on the diversity office website; submit a letter describing how the nominee has exemplified the award-related criteria; and coordinate the submission of three additional letters of support, one of which must be from outside the nominee's department or school.
Nominations can be submitted by e-mail, with supporting materials attached, to gip8w@virginia.edu, or mailed to the attention of Gail Prince-Davis, Office for Diversity and Equity, P.O. Box 400881, Charlottesville 22904-4881. For information, call 434-243-4311.

 — By Anne Bromley

Media Contact

Anne E. Bromley

University News Associate Office of University Communications