Winners Announced for U.Va. Art Museum's 2010 Writer's Eye Competition

December 15, 2010

December 15, 2010 — The University of Virginia Art Museum has selected the winners of Writers Eye 2010.

The program challenges writers of all ages to use visual art as inspiration for the creation of original poetry and prose. Contestants submitted original writings inspired by one of 18 pieces selected for the competition from the museum's permanent collection and visiting exhibitions. After conducting tours for nearly 3,000 students and adults, the museum received 1,226 entries in poetry and prose divisions.

Each year, the first-, second- and third-place winning entries are published in an anthology. The full-color, 64-page book will be available for purchase at the museum on March 20.

Now in its 24th year, the program is supported by gifts from Edith Warner, the Daniel M. and Wilma T. Horner Foundation, the Robert Earll McConnell Foundation, Thomas L. Piper Education Endowment and the University of Virginia Art Museum Volunteer Board.

Entries are judged in four age groups: grades 3-5 (elementary school), 6-8 (middle school), 9-12 (high school) and university/adult.

Charlotte Matthews and Jack Trammel, published writers from Crozet and Nelson County, respectively, judged this year's high school and university/adult categories. The elementary and middle school judges were Stephen Margulies, Geraldine Kruger, Barbara Fuhrman, Erin James, Susan Washko, Susan Guerrant, Proal Heartwell, Mark Collins, Molly Minturn, Michele Kellermann, Parke Muth and Heather Burns.

Judging for the competition is blind, with the authors' names removed from the work prior to delivery to the judges. The students receiving awards attend schools located in the city of Charlottesville and in Albemarle, Orange, Madison and Nelson counties. 

An awards ceremony and reception will be held on March 20.

Poetry division winners: 

• Elementary School – First place: Evelyn McKenney, Venable Elementary; second place: Nicholas Bird, Murray Elementary; third place: Hannah Woodward, Greer Elementary;  honorable mentions: Nellie Baumer, Peabody School; Teddy Bird, Murray Elementary; Christian Sesler and Ava Burnsed, Cale Elementary.

• Middle School
– First place: Logan Pritchard, St. Anne's-Belfield; second place: Will Elugren, Sutherland Middle; third place: Laura Holt, Buford Middle; and honorable mention: Saunder L. Boyle, Tandem Friends.

• High School – First place: Hayley Setear, Charlottesville High; second place: Christian A. Sutphin, Charlottesville High; third place, James O. Bray, Charlottesville High; honorable mentions: Zoe Rosner, Sarah Hart, Caroline Harris and Jonah O'Connor, Charlottesville High.

• University/Adult – First place: Courtney Hartnett, U.Va.; second place: Katrien Vance; third place:  Jennifer Rana, U.Va.; honorable mentions: Dana Bost; Leigh Giza; Gail Heard; Yang Xiangruo, U.Va.

Prose Division winners:

• Elementary School – First place: Owen Linville, Cale Elementary; second place: Eleanor Hawkes, North Branch; third place: Nathan Vance, North Branch; honorable mentions: Arlo Bloom, North Branch; Chloe Hellerman, Rockfish River Elementary; Laura Bendick, Brownsville Elementary; Sevele Van Der Werf, Murray Elementary.

• Middle School – First place: Julia Mae Stumbaugh, Jack Jouett Middle; second place: Rachel Birkholz, Village School; third place: Talia Wiener, Buford Middle; honorable mentions: Isabella Ciambotti, Village School and Hayley McGhee, Grymes Memorial.

• High School
– First place: Rachel Needham, Renaissance School; second place: Jamie Turner, Woodberry Forest; third place: Cameron Lingo, Charlottesville High; honorable mentions: Samantha Jane Rainey, Albemarle High; Grace Bailey, Charlottesville High; Marla Danae Lauber, Albemarle High; and Molly Folger, Charlottesville High.

– First place: Jody Hobbs Hesler; second place: Sharon Harrigan; third place: Rodger Nayak, U.Va.; honorable mentions: Arjun Ramesh, U.Va. and Ann Wicks.

For information regarding Writer's Eye 2010, contact the U.Va. Art Museum Education Department at 434-243-2050.

Media Contact

Jane Ford

Senior News Officer U.Va. Media Relations