Darden Faculty Faculty Win Wachovia Awards

November 17, 2006

Nov. 17, 2006 -- Four distinguished members of the Darden faculty received 2006 Wachovia Awards for excellence in writing.

Each year the Darden Research and Course Development Committee presents the Wachovia Awards to recognize faculty excellence. The awards alternate each year between excellence in course materials and excellence in research. The Wachovia Awards recognize work that is particularly outstanding and reflects well on the reputation and larger mission of the school. Each winner receives a plaque and an honorarium.

This year was noteworthy in that the committee had an outstanding array of nominations - perhaps the finest the school has ever seen, particularly in the quality of the submissions, but also in the overall number of works. "We are particularly proud of this, given that this array of work will certainly bolster Darden's reputation in terms of intellectual capital and suggests the school is on a positive trajectory in this area," says Professor Andrew Wicks, chairman of the committee.

This year's winners, by category:

Significant Publication in a Peer Reviewed Journal (two awards)

Winner: Professor Mary Margaret Frank
Authors: Mary Margaret Frank, James M. Poterba, Douglas A. Shackleford, and John B. Shoven.
"Copycat Funds: Information Disclosure Regulation and the Returns to Active Management in the Mutual Fund Industry," Journal of  Law and Economics, Vol. XLVII [October 2004]: 515-541.

Winner: Professor Ronald T. Wilcox
Authors: Shibo Li, Baohong Sun and Ronald T. Wilcox.
"Cross-Selling Sequentially Ordered Products: An Application to Consumer Banking Services" Journal of Marketing Research, Vol. XLII [May 2005]: 233-239.

Significant Publication in a Book Form

Winner: Professor Elizabeth Olmsted Teisberg
Authors: Michael E. Porter and Elizabeth Olmsted Teisberg.
Redefining Health Care: Creating Value-Based Competition on Results. Harvard Business School Press, 2006.

Significant Publication Aimed at the Practicing Manager

Winner: Professor Jeanne Liedtka 
Authors: Rob Cross, Jeanne Liedtka, and Leigh Weiss.
"A Practical Guide to Social Networks," Harvard Business Review [March 2005]: 1-9.