Jefferson Scholars Foundation Awards 31 Jefferson Scholarships

May 8, 2012 — The Jefferson Scholars Foundation has awarded 31 Jefferson Scholarships for study at the University of Virginia beginning this fall. Over four years, the scholarship provides approximately $100,000 for an in-state student and $200,000 to an out-of-state student.

The criteria for selection are demonstrated excellence and exceptional potential in the areas of leadership, scholarship and citizenship. The group of recipients includes students from 17 different states and one foreign country.

They are a diverse group of varsity athletes (16), student government officers (nine), musicians (10) and debaters (11). Several have conducted independent research. Nine founded an organization in their communities and 10 served as editors-in-chief for their school publications.

The average combined SAT score for the incoming class of Jefferson Scholars is 2,260; this average includes 23 perfect scores of 800 on at least one portion of the exam and 19 perfect scores of 800 on SAT II subject tests. In addition, the students amassed 88 perfect scores on Advanced Placement exams prior to their senior year.

Dating back to the beginning of the Jefferson Scholars program in 1980, more than 6,000 Jefferson Scholarship nominees have elected to attend the University without having received the Jefferson Scholarship. Over the last five years, Jefferson Scholarship nominees have comprised approximately 9 percent of each entering class.

Jefferson Scholarships are designed to help the University attract the most promising student leaders in the country. Students may not apply to become Jefferson Scholars, but rather must either be nominated by their schools or identified through the admission process. More than 3,700 schools are eligible to make nominations annually, including every secondary school in Virginia.

The 2012 entering class of Jefferson Scholars:

• John Howard Armstrong, New Orleans
• Mackenzie Dulay Austin, Hermosa Beach, Calif.
• John Aaren Barge, Sewickley, Pa.
• Ryan Matthew Bartels, Williamsville, N.Y.
• Russell Clifford Bogue, Guilford, Conn.
• Christopher Lijia Cai, Fredericksburg
• Allison Donini, Summit, N.J.
• William Jonathan Evans, Sewanee, Tenn.
• Mary Shelley Sigmond Goldsmith, Abingdon
• John Harvard Hack, Lenexa, Kan.
• Benjamin Norwood Harris, Grundy
• Alexa Leigh Hazel, Media, Pa.
• Mark Ramsey Heneine, Atlanta
• Caroline Kinloch Herre, Norfolk
• Katherine Elizabeth King, Tampa, Fla.
• Faith Ann Lyons, Wilmington, Del.
• Andrew Parks McBride, Memphis, Tenn.
• Porter Michael Nenon, Charlotte, N.C.
• Nora Katharine Neus, Tenafly, N.J.
• Chase Campbell Pion, Pacific Palisades, Calif.
• Marisa Puli Reddy, Cincinnati
• Logan Philip Richter, Downingtown, Pa.
• Anna Elizabeth Rigby, League City, Texas
• Ian Robertson, London
• Richard Benedict Rudgley, London
• Parisa Sadeghi, Alexandria
• Sarah Deshields Tait, St. Louis, Mo.
• Cameron Manfred Thum, Austin, Texas
• William Jackson Vallar, Bedford Hills, N.Y.
• Jason Steven Will, Woodbridge
• Allison Chenke Xu, Virginia Beach

Media Contact