Outstanding Contributors, Longtime Employees Honored at Reception

UPDATED May 16 to correct location of the June 5 banquet, whcih is to be held at the John Paul Jones Arena.

May 15, 2012 — The winners of the 2012 Leonard W. Sandridge Outstanding Contribution Awards are employees who show exemplary service and commitment to the University of Virginia's overall mission. They have improved work methods and productivity, decreased costs, enhanced internal and public regard for U.Va.'s services. Every day, they help students, faculty, patients, citizens and staff – and each other.

Together with employees with 10, 15 and 20 years of service at U.Va., they will be recognized Wednesday at the Service Awards Day reception in the John Paul Jones Arena.

The annual Outstanding Contribution Awards are the highest U.Va. honors staff receive for their dedicated service to the University. The awards are named in honor of Leonard W. Sandridge, former U.Va. executive vice president and chief operating officer.

Employees with 25, 30, 35, 40 and more years of service will be honored June 5 at a banquet at the John Paul Jones Arena.

Each year, U.Va. Human Resources appoints a committee to choose five outstanding employees from the Academic Division, and a Health System committee chooses five in the Medical Center, from a larger group of nominees. In addition, U.Va.'s College at Wise chooses a winner from its staff.

The Sandridge Outstanding Contribution Award recipients are invited to a luncheon with the Board of Visitors on May 22, where each will receive a $1,000 check and an engraved gift.

Profiles of the honorees and a list of the employees recognized for their years of service will be posted on UVA Today in the coming weeks.

Leonard W. Sandridge Outstanding Contribution Awards

Academic Division recipients:

Tracie Craner – University Police Department

Jennifer Phillips – School of Medicine, Surgery

Michael Redwine – Distributed Education Support Specialist, Engineering School

Ed Brooks – Energy Engineering Technician, Facilities Management

Anne Mulligan, Coordinator for Academic Programs, Miller Center

Medical Center recipients:

Mike Ellis, PC Support Supervisor, Health System Client Services

David Haugh, Decedent Affairs Coordinator

Donna Hudson, Coordinator of Finance & Operations, Women's and Children's Services

Souradji Issotou, Greeter of the Front Door Team, Patient & Guest Services

Sandra Dea Mahanes, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Nerancy Neuro-Intensive Care Unit

College at Wise recipient:

Jennifer Partin, Administrative and Office Specialist, U.Va.'s College at Wise