Teaching Award Winners 'Confront Confusion and Create Understanding'

April 28, 2010 — A banquet honoring the University of Virginia's 2010 Teaching Award winners will be held on April 28 in the Rotunda Dome Room.

President John T. Casteen III wrote to the recipients, "A teacher confronts confusion and creates understanding. The act of turning incomprehension into knowledge, transforming inability into skill and defining ethical sensibilities, is profoundly creative.

"All of us mindful of the past, concerned about the present and invested in the future, owe you a debt of gratitude."

The Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost issues a call for nominations for the annual awards each fall, and the Teaching Resource Center helps administer the programs associated with some of the awards, such as the Cavaliers' Distinguished Teaching Professorship 2010-12. The winners receive varying cash awards to work on new, innovative teaching projects.

The brochure prepared by the provost's office for the upcoming ceremony includes the following linked descriptions of the faculty awardees:

Cavaliers' Distinguished Teaching Professorship 2010-12
Gary W. Gallagher, College of Arts & Sciences

Richard A. & Sara Page Mayo NEH Distinguished Teaching Professor
John Dobbins, College of Arts & Sciences

Alumni Association Distinguished Professor Award
Cristina Della Coletta, College of Arts & Sciences

Alumni Board of Trustees Teaching Award
Amori Mikami, College of Arts & Sciences

All-University Awards
Timothy Beatley, School of Architecture
Benton Highsmith Calhoun, School of Engineering & Applied Science
Dr. Charles M. Friel, School of Medicine
Brian Nosek, College of Arts & Sciences
Marcia L. Pentz, McIntire School of Commerce
James Edward Ryan, School of Law
Charles "Cass" Sackett, College of Arts & Sciences
M. Chad Wellmon, College of Arts & Sciences
Barbara H. Wixom, McIntire School of Commerce

Study Abroad Award
Michael H. Levenson, College of Arts & Sciences

School of Medicine Resident Teaching Award
Dr. Stephen D. Jackson, School of Medicine

State Council of Higher Education Outstanding Faculty Award
Lisa Russ Spaar, College of Arts & Sciences

See 2010-11 University Teaching Fellows