University of Virginia Honors Great Teaching

April 15, 2009 — Twenty-six outstanding University of Virginia teachers were honored last night at a dinner in the Rotunda.

"Congratulations to colleagues who in their work transmit and create knowledge, and in doing so, link the generations one to the other," said U.Va. President John T. Casteen III, during the ceremony. "All of us -- mindful of the past, concerned about the present and invested in the future -- owe you a debt of gratitude."

Among the 26 honorees were the winners of six University Teaching Fellowships, which provide funding for junior faculty to develop or restructure courses.

"The University Teaching Fellows Program has been highly successful in helping junior faculty become exceptionally excellent teachers who go on to win University and statewide teaching awards, as well as excel with their research," said Marva Barnett, director of the Teaching Resource Center.

Teaching Award Winners

Cavaliers' Distinguished Teaching Professorship
Paul Barolsky, art history

NEH Horace W. Goldsmith Distinguished Teaching Professor
Mitchell S. Green, philosophy

Alumni Association Distinguished Professor Award
David T. Haberly, Spanish, Italian and Portuguese

Alumni Board of Trustees Teaching Award
Fernando Tejedo-Herrero, Spanish, Italian and Portuguese

Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Awards

J. Milton Adams, biomedical engineering
Henry H. Shugart, environmental sciences

Study Abroad Teaching Award

Majida Bargach, French language and literature

All-University Teaching Awards

Scott T. Acton, electrical and computer engineering
Giorgio Carta, chemical engineering
Stefano Grazioli, commerce
Dr. Mohan Nadkarni, medicine
Lisa Reilly, architectural history
Peter Rodriguez, business administration
Lisa Russ Spaar, English
Stephanie van Hover, education
Stephen White, politics

All-University Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Awards

Danielle Carlotti-Smith, French language and literature
Jason Hickel, anthropology
Katherine Heller, mathematics

School of Medicine Resident Teaching Award
Dr. Scott Beach, psychiatry

University Teaching Fellows

Stéphanie Bérard, French language and literature
Silvia Salinas Blemker, mechanical and aerospace engineering
Greg Schmidt Goering, religious studies
LaVae M. Hoffman, education
Matthew A. Reidenbach, environmental sciences
C. Ellen Zhang, history