U.Va. Architecture Faculty Receive National Awards for Architectural Education

February 15, 2011 — University of Virginia School of Architecture faculty members received more awards than those of any other university in this year's Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture Awards program.

The following faculty received national awards for architectural education:

• John Quale, associate professor of architecture, was awarded the Creative Achievement Award for his ecoMOD and ecoREMOD projects. This national award for architectural education recognizes a specific creative achievement in teaching, design, scholarship, research or service that advances architectural education.

• In addition, Quale's ecoMOD project was awarded the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture/American Institute of Architects' Housing Design Education Award in the Excellence in Housing Design Curriculum category – the only winner in this category this year. The award recognizes the importance of good education in housing design to produce architects ready for practice in a wide range of areas and able to be capable leaders and contributors to their communities.

As a partnership of the School of Architecture and the School of Engineering and Applied Science, the ecoMOD project's Housing Design Curriculum Award is shared with engineering professor Paxton Marshall; Nancy Takahashi, distinguished lecturer and chair of landscape architecture; Louis Nelson, associate professor and chair of architectural history; and Eric Field, lecturer in architecture and information technology.

• Anselmo Canfora, assistant professor of architecture, was awarded the Collaborative Practice Award for his project, "Initiative reCOVER: Primary School, Gita, Uganda." This award recognizes programs that demonstrate how faculty, students and community/civic clients work to realize common objectives.

• Craig Barton, chair and associate professor of architecture, was awarded an honorable mention in the Collaborative Practice Award category for his project, "Reconstructing the Memory of the Scrabble School: A Collaborative Project."

The faculty will be recognized during the association's annual meeting in Montréal on March 4.

— By Ellen Cathey

Media Contact

Ellen Cathey

School of Architecture