U.Va. Miller Center Awards ‘Exemplary Leaders’ David and Linda Gibson

November 29, 2012

The University of Virginia’s Miller Center has awarded David E. and Linda J. Gibson its 2012 Elizabeth Scott Award for Exemplary Leadership. The Scott Award recognizes and thanks individuals who have given of themselves over time to the Miller Center, U.Va. and the local community.

Gov. Gerald L. Baliles, director and CEO of the Miller Center, said, “David’s dedication to the Miller Center is unquestioned. He has ably served in various leadership roles, most notably as co-chair of the center’s capital campaign and as a member of the Audit Committee. Prior to my arrival in 2006, David served on a leadership transition team that ran the Miller Center efficiently and effectively for over a year. Having this varied level of exposure, David is in rarefied air in terms of his ability to offer perspective and insight on nearly every aspect of the Miller Center and the Miller Center Foundation.

“Fortunately for David, he is married to a woman who not only shares his passion for service and volunteerism, but who is loved equally by this community and the organizations in which she serves.”

David Gibson graduated from U.Va. in 1962 and received a law degree from the University in 1965. After law school, he served in the U.S. Navy. In 1969, he joined Citibank New York and began a successful career in corporate banking.

He is an emeritus trustee of the Darden Foundation, the College and Graduate School of Arts & Sciences and the Miller Center Foundation.

Linda Gibson earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in accounting from James Madison University and is a certified public accountant. She served as business officer for the College Foundation at U.Va. from 2001 until her retirement in 2010.

The Gibsons were presented the award Wednesday at the annual Miller Center Foundation Salute.

Scott, the award’s namesake and first recipient, was a member of the Miller Center Governing Council from 1987 to 1996 and served for many years on several of its committees.

Media Contact

Kristy Schantz

Miller Center